Detroit Rebellion Announces Vinyl Release of Debut LP “The Man”


Bodan Kuma artists, Detroit Rebellion, have announced that their debut album, “The Man,” will receive a physical vinyl release on July 21st, along with a double A-Side 7” single featuring “Fork In The Road.”

The Providence, Rhode Island based duo will hit the road in July in support of the album, including the 23rd in Detroit to mark the 50th Anniversary of the 1967 Detroit Riots.

Detroit Rebellion create music to heal the soul. “The Man” delves deep into the forces of repression and control, while “Fork In The Road” is a song about indecision – featuring a distorted acoustic guitar, filtered through a pedal Troste obtained after discarded by Kurt Cobain at a Providence performance in the ‘90s. The album was recorded live off the floor in a basement in Providence, including the vocal takes, with minor overdubs. It’s modern day blues that might find something akin with another Detroit duo, those folks at Third Man Records, and the ghosts that haunt Timber Timbre to the north.

Led by songwriter/guitarist/vocalist, Jeff Toste, and current drummer, Micaiah Castro, the blues/garage rock project has existed in various forms, both solo and duo, based on Toste’s evolving band lineup. Detroit Rebellion have been busy the first half of 2017 working on material for a sophomore album, due to arrive in the fall of this year. More details to be announced, this summer.

Click Here to check out “The Man” on Bodan Kuma Recordings, or stream and share the band’s single, “Fork in the Road,” below. SoundCloud.


Contact Us for licensing.

Tour Schedule:
07/19 – Providence, RI @ AS220
07/20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Freddy’s Bar
07/21 – Philadelphia, PA @ Warship Olympia Tattoo + Arts Convention (7p)
07/22 – Columbus, OH @ Café Bourbon Street
07/23 – Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House
07/24 – Cleveland, OH @ The Magalen
07/25 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
07/26 – Albany, NY @ The Low Beat
07/27 – Boston, MA @ Plough & Stars

The Man track listing:
01. The Man
02. Fork In The Road
03. Dirty Boots
04. Fire, Devil & Desire
05. Detroit Rebellion Of ‘67
06. Some Of The Time, Some Other Time
07. Trash Talk
08. Dark Lady
09. Nothing To Lose
10. Echo Chamber
11. Speak Your Mind
12. The Spy